Performing Arts: Music
January 4, 2013
National Endowment for the Arts Announces Live Webcast of 2013 NEA Jazz Masters Awards Ceremony & Concert on January 14
In partnership with Jazz at Lincoln Center, will hold its annual NEA Jazz Masters Awards Ceremony & Concert at Dizzy's Club Coca-Cola, and via live webcast. The NEA Jazz Masters Awards Ceremony & Concert will prominently feature NEA Jazz Masters who will perform tributes to the 2013 honorees: Mose Allison, Lou Donaldson, Lorraine Gordon (A.B. Spellman, NEA Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy), and Eddie Palmieri. The concert will begin at 7:30 p.m. EST and can be accessed by the public at as well as An archive of the webcast will be available the following day.
Wynton Marsalis, NEA Jazz Master (2011) and Jazz at Lincoln Center Managing and Artistic Director, will emcee the concert. NEA Jazz Masters Kenny Barron (2010), Ron Carter (1998), and Jimmy Cobb (2009) will make up a featured trio in an evening of performances that will also include Paquito D'Rivera (2005), Sheila Jordan (2012), Dave Liebman (2011), and Randy Weston (2001), as well as 2013 NEA Jazz Masters Mose Allison, Lou Donaldson, and Eddie Palmieri. Other NEA Jazz Masters in attendance at the concert include Muhal Richard Abrams (2010), David Baker (2000), Benny Golson (1996), Chico Hamilton (2004), Roy Haynes (1995), Dan Morgenstern (2007), Jimmy Owens (2012), McCoy Tyner (2002), Cedar Walton (2010), and Phil Woods (2007).* In addition to the live webcast, the concert will be broadcast live on WBGO Jazz 88.3FM, NPR Music, and SiriusXM Satellite Radio's Real Jazz Channel XM67. A video archive of the concert will also be available at following the event.

©2001 Eye and Dance and the Arts | All Rights Reserved